Soil & Water Conservation District

Soil and Water Conservation District

The Fayette Soil and Water Conservation District was organized in 1947 by concerned landowners interested in protecting and improving the soil and water resources of the county. We service county residents and landowners, educators, community groups as well as other public agencies.

A Board of five supervisors, elected by the citizens of Fayette County, donate their time to meet regularly to conduct the District's business. The supervisors are elected at the District's annual meeting to serve a three-year term.

The District is a political subdivision of the State of Ohio, Fayette SWCD is assisted by the Fayette County Commissioners, the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, and the Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Meeting Information

The Fayette Soil & Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors will hold its regular monthly meetings in 2023 on the following dates:

  • January 10 
  • February 14
  • March 14
  • April 11
  • May 9 
  • June 13
  • July 11
  • August 8
  • September 12
  • October 10
  • November 14
  • December 12

All meetings will be held at 1415 US 22 SW, Washington Court House, OH and will being at 7:30 a.m., except Dec.12 which will begin at 10:00 a.m.

A Records Commission Meeting immediately following the January 10th Board Meeting.

All board meetings of the Fayette Soil & Water Conservation District are open to the public.

Public comments are welcome but are limited to five minutes per person. Persons wishing to speak longer than this time should call the district office at 740-313-3214 and ask to be included on the agenda.

 Anyone wishing to receive direct notice of any changes in meeting dates or location should call the district office at 740-313-3214.